A Fact of Life

The 4 Noble Truths of Buddhism are as follows:

  1. The truth of dukkha: Life is permeated with suffering, anxiety & stress
  2. The truth of the origin of dukkha: Our suffering is caused by craving or desire
  3. The truth of the cessation of dukkha: To stop suffering, eliminate craving
  4. The truth of the path leading to the cessation of dukkha: The 8-Fold Path shows the way to accomplish this goal.

I was thinking about the second Truth today. Specifically, this Truth is broken down (in the typical Buddhist fashion!) into a number of “cravings.” We want to acquire & keep nice things & events & people in our lives. We want to avoid & flee nasty things, events & people. To be honest, there are a number of things I used to have, and now I don’t have…and I miss them! For example, Pestell Easy Clean Unscented cat litter used to be a lot better than it is now–I used to scoop it daily & use it up to the last bit, and now it’s just smelly and I have to throw it out when I can’t stand it any longer. What did they do? Change the texture or what? I can’t figure it out. I would also like to have a turntable with all the speeds (so I can hear The Chipmunks sing baritone)and I used to want a VCR with the medium speed instead of just recording at either 6 hours or two hours* and a portable digital radio tape player…Yeah, no longer available. I still have tapes! I used to get Sony Sportsters for 40 bucks; the last one I saw was $200! (I guess it became a “classic.”) When I was a child, I also enjoyed veal chops with the kidney attached. Now the kidney apparently has to be stored in a different way than the chop! I called up Walgreen’s customer service trying to get Clear Antiseptic Hand Cleaner back–it had such a sophisticated, light spicy scent, like French perfume, that dissipated fast after washing. Oh…lost that! Boo hoo!! They thought I wanted something electric orange that scents everything you try to eat for the rest of the day with something that smells like cheap laundry detergent. You have to wash your hands after washing!! I was told by the rep that the product was still there under a different name. Nope! Soap-scent-clear-antiseptic: That’s the product. What they gave me was soap-melon scented-clear-non antiseptic. I also complained that the Disposable Latex Gloves were replaced by Vinyl Gloves. Guys, I used Latex for 2 or 3 days of gardening; the Vinyl lasts about, say, 3 minutes? Yes, I know “some people are allergic to latex.” But who gives a crap? Most of us aren’t. Why cater to the minority by taking away our product? Put both on the shelves.But what I really miss is my signature scent, the 1971 drug store Styx. Maybe I’ll end up popping for a knock off. There are places that claim to be able to dupe scents. For a price.

Y’know…losing those products wouldn’t bother me so much, if they were only occasionally replaced by something much better…. I’m sure you have your own list of missing “pet” products that are gone and will not be replaced. Yeah, I’m pretty flexible about most things–even those things–but when I think about it I wonder: Why take away good stuff? Because whatever you have now…prepare to get it taken away. That’s life.

*Old desire–now I do dvds & DVR

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

