While Researching, Found This

Buddhism vs. Christianity

Way down at the bottom of the page was this anonymous comment. Not exactly the way I do it, but similar. In its entirety:

“I worship God my creator by studying (meditating on) his ENTIRE creation—which IS the only miracle I need or recognize. I see life as the natural product of nature, and intelligence as the natural product of life. I believe God is perfect and so wouldn’t throw arbitrary rules out to trip us up; all the rules I see are for our own good. I believe my primary purpose here is to help others and to benefit the human race; not just to help myself into heaven. God smiles at me from the sunrise in the morning and puts me to bed at night. I cannot know who created the Bible, but I know who created the trees. I know Jesus not as a distant savior, but as an ever-present friend, as is Buddha, and my friends and relatives who have gone before me. I can’t see Heaven as a distant place, because it wouldn’t be much of a heaven if I were separated from the people and places I love. I am a Christian who worships as a Buddhist, mainly because Christianity provides little guidance for the type of worship that “makes sense in my own mind”; as Buddha puts it. There is no conflict in my heart or my mind between Christianity and Buddhism. For those who would call me a heretic I offer a parable by Arthur Conan Doyle: The cheese-mites asked how the cheese got there, And hotly debated the matter; The Orthodox said that it came from the air, And the Heretics said from the platter. They argued it long and they argued it strong, And I hear they are arguing now; But of all the choice spirits who lived in the cheese, Not one of them thought of a cow. I do not attempt to speculate about the nature of God, his methods, or his motives as my Christian clergy does; to do so would be not only absurd but heretical. Thank you.”

This may also be of interest, from Buddhist Geeks Lab. A quote:

“If the Dharma always melds with elements of the dominant spiritual practices of a new culture, maybe we’re barking up the wrong tree by focusing so much on the intersection of Buddhism and science. Perhaps the spotlight really belongs on the intersection of Buddhism and Christianity, and people like Stuart Lord* are the forerunners of an emergent tradition blending Eastern and Western spiritual influences into something whose shape we don’t yet know how to anticipate.”

*Naropa University’s “Christian Buddhist President”

…and some followup.

 

If the Dharma always melds with elements of the dominant spiritual practices of a new culture, maybe we’re barking up the wrong tree by focusing so much on the intersection of Buddhism and science. Perhaps the spotlight really belongs on the intersection of Buddhism and Christianity, and people like Stuart Lord are the forerunners of an emergent tradition blending Eastern and Western spiritual influences into something whose shape we don’t yet know how to anticipate. – See more at: http://www.buddhistgeeks.com/2010/08/christian-buddhism/#sthash.YlUfKFZI.dpuf
If the Dharma always melds with elements of the dominant spiritual practices of a new culture, maybe we’re barking up the wrong tree by focusing so much on the intersection of Buddhism and science. Perhaps the spotlight really belongs on the intersection of Buddhism and Christianity, and people like Stuart Lord are the forerunners of an emergent tradition blending Eastern and Western spiritual influences into something whose shape we don’t yet know how to anticipate. – See more at: http://www.buddhistgeeks.com/2010/08/christian-buddhism/#sthash.YlUfKFZI.dpuf
If the Dharma always melds with elements of the dominant spiritual practices of a new culture, maybe we’re barking up the wrong tree by focusing so much on the intersection of Buddhism and science. Perhaps the spotlight really belongs on the intersection of Buddhism and Christianity, and people like Stuart Lord are the forerunners of an emergent tradition blending Eastern and Western spiritual influences into something whose shape we don’t yet know how to anticipate. – See more at: http://www.buddhistgeeks.com/2010/08/christian-buddhism/#sthash.YlUfKFZI.dpuf
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

