On a Lecture: 11/19

Your Finger Pointing…My Finger Shaking

Under the strobing fluorescent lights
You labor like an elephant
And give birth to a flea.
I am tired of giving you “the benefit of the doubt”.
I have heard this antic justification before:
In long sermons on lists of names in the Bible.
When the pastors assumed that hard work made up for content.
But it’s possible to make a diamond (sutra)
Into a zircon, I think-
As your tiny distinctions fly past the window like moths
There are many times
When you are the only one in the room wired not tired
When you are home and all others need to get home
To real food and drink
And our beds. So repetition
Just doesn’t help with this sad situation…
Our lights are dim as it is.
Don’t mess with our heads.

[Note: I was in a bad mood when I wrote this. I wasn’t dealing well with the shift from Daylight Savings Time back to Standard Time and I continually fell asleep in class. For me it was still like shifting the end of the evening classes from 9:30 to 10:30 pm. I ended up having to force myself to go to bed one hour later, so that I would not awaken at 4:30 or 5am and could then stay awake in class. ~ SK]

This entry was posted in poem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

